First Week, Thoughts and Study Plans | 첫 주, 생각과 공부 계획

This is a somehow late super-post but I don’t expect this to be as long as my usual posts, or I don’t know. I just want to share this because I don’t want to blog tomorrow (later *because it’s already 1 AM). I just wanna devote my time to studying and sleeping, and de-stressing myself. 하지만 아무리 피곤해도 보통 많이 쓸 수 있어요. No matter how dizzy or sleep-desperate I am, I can still talk/type a lot. But anyway, I just got home from work and semi-tutoring volunteer work, lol. Though I don’t usually go out on Friday nights, or just about any nights, I had to because my E1 friend, 엘리자 누나, who’s also my classmate right now asked me for help. It was pre-planned last Saturday before our first day but a lot of us weren’t feeling so good and storm came so it was cancelled. We commenced earlier, but it was just her, and 찰린 누나 followed. 엘리자 누나 is already at Intermediate 1 *obviously* but she still lacks a lot since before, I try hard to make them speak in Korean with me, but they just won’t. They were contented enough, and their mentalities were like, “Studying is already enough, I don’t want to talk anymore.”, lol. It was frustrating to me because I can only talk with 찰린 누나. Now, 찰린 누나, though she thought of herself as a lacking student, she improved a lot. Whether it be speaking, writing, and reading, her pace improved. She would even correct me occasionally when I get mistakes, which is very very very good.

As for 엘리자 누나 when 찰린 누나 has not arrived yet, I asked her “Which part are you having difficulties with, except everything?” ㅎㅎㅎ. I asked her like that because I don’t want her to answer ‘everything’. She then explained to me that she’s having difficulties with 말하기 and 읽기. So then, I decided to let her read a lot. I explained the similarities and differences of ㅓ ㅗ ㅜ ㅡ ㅣ regarding sounds, mouth form, etc. Then we went on to read the conversations. At first we would exchange lines, and since I felt she’s having a hard time, I just had to read it, then she’ll listen and repeat. I actually want to do it often, but I don’t know if I can do it without killing myself out of stress.

First week

In three days, we already have about 150 words. O_O. Just thinking about it, I wanna die. Good thing about our vocabularies though, is that they are a bit connected with each other. That’s the good thing about 재미있는 한국어, the book cites specific goals that you’ll be achieving when you finished a lesson, so vocabularies from a single lesson are somewhat biased on a certain topic. Aside from all those new and overwhelming words, we also have overwhelming homeworks. There’s this second homework where we were asked to write about our plans. Whether it be this year’s, next year’s or as simple as this term’s. I chose the latter. I will post it on Monday after receiving 선생님’s corrections.

One more good thing about my classes is that my current teacher is also my Elementary 2 teacher. I wouldn’t have to worry about techniques or anything I need adjustments with. Right now I’m currently having fun. I hope it won’t get super stressful in the next weeks.

Korean Diary

I never thought how exciting it was then when I can write a good chunk of Korean texts. It just so happened that I want to write again since I have to be disciplined. I have to at least see how far I’ve become from simple sentences to more grammar-juggling ones.

I’ve already posted two entries since I started classes and have it corrected through Lang-8. It’s good to see that all the corrections make sense when I read and compare it with my own writing. Though there may be grammar points and words that I would’ve never chose beforehand *since I don’t know them yet, or not too sure*, it’s good to hear outputs. 그리고, the people who corrects your entries don’t know you personally or how simple your sentences should be corrected, so it’s not much of a big deal when my simple sentence turned into a more complex one. I just proved that usage of grammar points really matter in helping a sentence convey a message more clearly and appropriately. Some grammar points may feel safe and appropriate for a particular thought but in reality, there would be a better way on how to communicate it.

K-Pop understanding

Earlier on my way home, I was listening to random K-Pop music. Listening to SE7EN’s ‘이해해’, 2NE1’s ‘DO YOU LOVE ME’, After School’s ‘첫사랑’ and just about any other song that comes out on shuffle. It’s good that three days of Intermediate 1 helped me understand some lines from songs that I wouldn’t even know how it would mean if I listened to it last week. This is what I love about not advancing myself. I ‘NEVER’ tried reading a song’s translation, or try to translate a song word per word, because that’s more ‘leisurely’ than ‘educational’. Most of the time, my mind wouldn’t keep fragments. It can choose pieces of information that may be used frequently, and some pieces can just be left scattered. If I translate a song from Korean to English, it’s just like accepting a fun challenge, but in reality there wouldn’t be so much learning. In listening to Jay Park’s ‘좋아’ I noticed there are more lines that I can understand rather than lines that I can’t. It’s a good progress in a sense. I just thought that if I make the song run a bit slower than usual, just to give me a time to process the sentences quickly, I may understand about 90% of the whole song.

I don’t plan on studying or dissecting a song anytime soon, because this way of surprising myself feels more better and satisfactory. Those are the lyrics you were super familiar with, and when you listened to it for another time, you’ll be super surprised that you can finally understand what it was saying.

Study plans

Last Wednesday, we were asked to do that ‘plans’ assignment. Work is getting busier, and school is getting harder so every little time should be spent well. During E2, whenever I get home, I can only eat, bathe and sleep. I can blog if I choose to, but anything besides those four things, I can’t anymore. On my way home last Wednesday, I already did my assignment through my Blackberry. It’s super convenient because I just have to type, and rewrite it when it’s finished. Since when I got home I was super tired, I haven’t had the time to do it. I don’t really like studying or doing Korean stuff at work because that’s just rude. But then, I can’t figure out a free time for me to write my homework on a paper so I did it during lunch time. There are also some times when I blog at work, but that’s just when I don’t have to do anything productive. And since, just like what I’ve said, everything’s getting hectic so when I still got spare time in the office, I ‘excel’ all the words that we’ve tackled.

단어

Don’t mind the double entries, I don’t know how it became like that but I’ll fix it early in the morning >.<

Firstly, I type all the BLUE entries in my notebook, the 한글 and it’s English counterpart. I use blue for vocabulary so no matter how mixed up my notes become, I can sort them out easily. After typing the entries, I categorize it if it’s a noun, a verb, an adjective or an adverb. Afterwards, I will also put its synonyms. If the synonym is pure Korean or hanja, I will also indicate. Then if it has antonyms, I will also put it there. Next, I will put nouns that can be used with it, if it’s a verb. And verbs that can be used with it if it’s a noun. Then, I categorize them whether it’s a ‘school’ thing, or a ‘major’, or if it’s a ‘cooking’-related word, etc.

I think this would be really helpful for me, since I’m not very good at memorizing. Just doing a simple word list of 한글 and English won’t help. Right now there are a lot of similar words but there are slight to big differences, so knowing when and how to use it will really be productive and helpful for my future speaking and writing.

Starting tomorrow, I will definitely study more. During transit, instead of reading a different book, I should just read my notes and memorize a lot of words. If it’s hard to just memorize, I’ll take time to make mind examples, and relate a word to something so I won’t have a lot of difficulties. For example, instead of thinking about this word as ‘this word’, I will think about how to apply that word into something concrete, and that would make me learn more on how to use similar words correctly. At work, when I’m not doing anything, I will take the time to type newly-studied words and ‘excel’ it. Good thing I’m already quick at typing so it won’t take a lot of time. After work when on transit, I will try to answer my homeworks already, and just study more and harder on weekends.

I hope I can make this plan concrete, and make a list soon so it would be official. Can I buy time? Well even if I can, I don’t even have money for smaller things.

Leave a Reply

