On K-Pop, INFINITE One Great Step in Manila and Books | 케이팝, 인피니트의 One Great Step in Manila와 책에 대한

DISCLAIMER: I haven’t watched any concert since last year. This one included.

K-Pop ‘Feels’

And then I just realized that I already started to detach myself away from K-Pop bitterness, except maybe if it’s about TOP or BIGBANG. I’m not a good spazzer myself. I tend to get super red or have those ‘feels’ (which is still an irritating word to me) whenever I watch something or listen to something, but I’m not someone who checks up on my idols, hoard pictures or read endless articles, because that’s just worthless. I became a fan of BIGBANG and 2NE1 because of the music. They’re not artists if not for the music, so I stayed true to the concept of K-Pop. Though K-Pop in a whole may already be interpreted as a lifestyle or a cult, I still think otherwise. It’s still about music.

It’s not that I’m just a plain K-Pop fan, but I don’t follow it religiously. I don’t have to have every merchandise, or every album, but I have a simple, inner and deeper understanding about it. Though honestly, there’s not too much deepness about it, since I don’t even understand the words… but yeah. I call myself a silent fan because I far know my limitations about stuff. I don’t care about bulges or nipple slips because that’s just rude and highly inappropriate for me to buzz about.

K-Concerts

A lot of concerts have passed but I never bothered going any. This year opened up with a grand concert with Girls’ Generation, INFINITE, Tasty, EXO and U-KISS (and let’s include TAHITI that I don’t even know), and then comes another round from EXO with SHINee and Dal Shabet… but then I never bothered going. Though I love D.O. and all, and INFINITE, I just don’t have the funds for a good show. I may choose to buy the least pricey tickets, but what’s the point in watching then if it’s just like that?

Super Junior also arrived last week but I’m the least one to even care about it.

I bought general admission tickets for BIGBANG Alive Galaxy Tour in Manila just because I’m just rewatching it, so it’s still worth it, but then for this time, it’s INFINITE in their solo tour. Though it pains me a bit, because I half-swore before that from some time forward, I’m just gonna spend money for BIGBANG, 2NE1 or INFINITE and will never watch a show with mixed groups but just watch their solo materials, I failed to watch and stick to my promise. But then INFINITE concert just ended while I’m typing this and it’s sad.

I’m not crazy about not going there because as far as I can evaluate myself, I’m already detached about things like these. It would be a nice experience, though, but I’m not very bitter about it. I had a chance to watch it through my cousin since she got free tickets, but then I’m just half-decided about it, since I promised not-watching with a friend since we both can’t afford. If we can though, we’ll definitely watch together. Things happen. And besides, it’s still better to watch on a DVD. I thought the same way from a long time ago.

Korean class and Murakami

It’s about halfway. We’re currently at Chapter 8 out of 15, and lessons are… I can’t say getting harder, but getting more complicated and tiring. Sometimes, I want to give up for no reason, but then it’s not a very wise choice because things just happen and I might just be experiencing ‘cold feet’. Just these last weeks, I found another book that opens the bookworm inside me, again. It’s been days or weeks(?) since I last posted something here because I’ve been going on about my busy social life. Not that I’ve been drinking or living the life of a party (because I don’t do that), but I was just spending time discovering new tea or coffee places, going around every bookstore I can go to and just that, being introvert, being myself.

In those days that I haven’t posted something, I already finished Koushun Takami’s (I had to Google that since I have difficulties remembering Japanese names with the exception of Ayumi Hamasaki [not that I like her] and Haruki Murakami) Battle Royale. I’ve watched the film several times before, but then the red book cover caught my eye one time while looking for ‘A Game of Thrones’ and got the idea that I can’t find this book easily anywhere and it would be very stupid of me to not buy it. So I did. In 10 days, I finished the book and decided to pick up my third Murakami book (first was 1Q84 then Sputnik Sweetheart) ‘Kafka on the Shore’. I’ve been reading the book nonstop, just pausing from book exhaustion and sleepiness. I am a very weird person so taking in a Murakami, maybe even in his boldest, won’t exactly be a bother or sickening to my likeness. In fact, I really enjoy his novels, same way as I’m enjoying my Korean classes.

If I haven’t told through previous entries, we had a whole week break from Korean school, and it really was a lot of help to clear up my mind a little. I never noticed that my Korean class is subconsciously adding stress to my being. I myself don’t admit to it since I enjoy it, but then when it went away for some time, I felt like it was a very necessary breather. Not that I want to stop it already, but it’s just something that I never thought I needed. Earlier, I met my classmate for a simple homework date. We just had to take care of our assignments and essay writings since classes will be resuming tomorrow and it would be unwise for me to do it at the office, when in fact, I had a whole full week of study time.

I’m actually having dilemmas about this book because like 1Q84, this is just another Murakami-formulated book that as much as I want to stop reading and go on with my life, I also want the book to not end or just go on, but rereading would not be an option because you want the story to feel as if it’s completely new again. Thus, I haven’t had time to study vocabulary or just do practice with newly-learned grammar patterns.

I should just go with the flow, because life is just an up-down up-down hill and we never know what circumstances may bring. I’m turning 21 on the 21st and aside from not maturing quickly, God may just have too many upcoming plans for me.

Leave a Reply

